The Worst Summer Ever

I was standing outside chatting with our neighbor when she asked me a pretty benign question – “Did you have a good summer?” I, with my big mouth, not willing to fake it, responded, “No! … Actually…” <insert awkward laughter and me blabbering about not going to the beach ever because it was cold>…

I don’t know what kind of season of life you are in, but I’m coming out of a pretty hard one. (Or maybe we’re not through it yet – I don’t know! What a fun thought…) So, that was the truth – it was a crummy summer. Really bad things happened. Things that I never ever would have chosen for our family.

But that is not the whole picture. Two things go through my mind when I think about this summer

One –ย  we had some really fun moments this summer. But I can’t remember most of them because I’ve been fixated on all that went wrong. All summer I lamented what an awful time we had, so no one was more surprised than me when, the night before school started and we were all sitting around the dinner table, I blurted out

“So, what was your favorite thing we did this summer?!”

It was almost an out-of-body experience. What the heck am I talking about?! We didn’t do anything fun at all! And that’s exactly what Morgan said. I weakly feigned disapproval at her comment as Steve rattled off the fun things we did – Cherry Festival, fireworks in our backyard, checking out the animals and food trucks at the fair… He gently corrected her poor attitude (and, unknowingly, he corrected mine.)

Worst Summer Ever - Ordinary|Awesome blog

Worst Summer Ever - Ordinary|Awesome blog

Worst Summer Ever - Ordinary|Awesome blog

 

 

Worst Summer Ever - Ordinary|Awesome blog

(Thankful for a healed pinky…) –

Worst Summer Ever - Ordinary|Awesome blog

Two – if I could see the whole story – if I could stand at the end of it all and look back, knowing the fullness of my story, our storyย  – would I choose differently than what God has allowed and ordained for us? I doubt it.

I’m still wrapping my head around that one.


Looking For The Ordinary Awesome - Write 31 Days Challenge

To read all the posts in this series, check out the series page as I post the link for every day! And don’t miss a post – subscribe via email by signing up using the form in the sidebar!

Leave a Reply

