The Bathroom Reading Plan {Spring/Summer Edition}

You know how some people talk about the books that are on their nightstand? Well, my books are on my bathroom counter. Yes, as in, next to the toilet. I keep them on my nightstand too, but a book is really good if it’s made it to the bathroom stack.

I used to read all the time. Once we had kids there was no time for reading during the day, and at night I was exhausted or I wanted to be spending time with my husband.

If you are lamenting the loss of your reading time for any reason, seriously – try the bathroom reading plan (B.R.P.). I’ve gotten whole books read with only time in the bathroom. Ya’ll are probably like “TMI, Lauren…” but you know that people are not going to mess with you when you’re in the bathroom. Ok, scratch that – if they’re ages 3+ you can usually convince them not to bother you for a few minutes while you’re in the loo.

Reading is necessary for me. There is something about the written word that gets me deep down. And not just written word on a computer or on a kindle, but actual books that you hold in your hand. I know I’m old fashioned, and maybe I’ll convert one of these days, but I’m fairly certain that as long as they continue to print books I’ll choose the ones you hold in your hand and mark up the pages.

The following books were part of my B.R.P. this spring/summer. I recommend them with no reservations and give all of them five stars. They are that good.

Major Pettigrew's Last Stand - Bathroom Books by Ordinary|Awesome blog          The Sweet By and By - Bathroom Books by Ordinary|Awesome blog        The Mysterious Benedict Society - Bathroom Books by Ordinary|Awesome blog

Atlas Girl - Bathroom Books by Ordinary|Awesome blog     The Nesting Place - Bathroom Books by Ordinary|Awesome blog      Restless - Bathroom Books by Ordinary|Awesome blog

Cold Tangerines - Bathroom Books by Ordinary|Awesome blog         Bittersweet - Bathroom Books by Ordinary|Awesome blog     Bread & Wine - Bathroom Books by Ordinary|Awesome blog

A few of them were especially meaningful to me, but that is another post entirely.

Click on the books to find them on Amazon! Happy reading!

What have you been reading lately??

 


Looking For The Ordinary Awesome - Write 31 Days Challenge

To read all the posts in this series, check out the series page as I post the link for every day! And don’t miss a post – subscribe via email by signing up using the form in the sidebar!

This post is part of 31 Days – “an online writing challenge started by home blogger, Myquillyn Smith (The Nester) where bloggers pick one topic and write a post on that topic every day in October.”

 

Leave a Reply

