Losing Emanuel

Suffering. We’re all marked by it… We’d all like to avoid it. But in this life there really is no way to insulate ourselves from it.

And no matter how statistically ordinary – 10-20% of all, 3 out of 4, 1 case in 1000… when it’s you it doesn’t make it better that it’s commonplace. It just really hurts.

Here is part of my story:

Like I said in the video – I have no idea what you’ve gone through. I’m sure I could not begin to imagine the tragedy that has befallen some of you. I am so sorry. But I do know that my God has met me in my suffering and He can meet you in yours. I do know that one day He will make everything right. He will live among His people and

“He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things [will have] passed away.” (Revelation 21:4)


So what will you decide? Will you allow the fire of suffering to shine light or to bring destruction?


Looking For The Ordinary Awesome - Write 31 Days ChallengeTo read all the posts in this series, check out the series page as I post the link for every day! And don’t miss a post – subscribe via email by signing up using the form in the sidebar!

This post is part of 31 Days – “an online writing challenge started by home blogger, Myquillyn Smith (The Nester) where bloggers pick one topic and write a post on that topic every day in October.”

5 thoughts on “Losing Emanuel

  1. Lauren AND Steve, what a poignant and touching video. It is done beautifully and really touched my heart. When you lose a child, it affects you in a way that is unlike anything else. Thank you for opening up a very painful memory and showing your incredible strength and your devotion to your faith.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Powerful and beautiful, Lauren. I pray that this will make it’s way to women in need of healing and hope. You have an incredible gift. Thank you for sharing this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

