Helper Girl

Morgan: “When I grow up I’m going to have a bus that I will drive around to find kids who don’t have parents.”

She was sitting on the top bunk as we were getting ready for bedtime.

Me: “Oh yeah?”

Morgan: “Yes, and I’m going to have a big board with lights on it that will say ‘Here is a lost kid!’ and then it will tell me ‘Go right, go left’ and take me right to them.”

Me: “Wow, Morg… That sounds pretty cool!”

Morgan: “And I’m going to have a lodge with lots of beds for the kids. Because kids shouldn’t be out at night alone. And I will always give them hot chocolate and scrambled eggs when they get there.”

She calls herself Helper Girl (see her cape?) – with binoculars to see people in trouble.

31 Days of Looking for the Ordinary Awesome - Ordinary|Awesome Blog

Is this a peek into what Morgan might do in the future? I don’t know, but I love that her heart is with kids in trouble, kids who are orphaned or alone. I hope she keeps a soft heart for people who need help.

These are the kinds of things I want to remember for Morgan, and for all my kids. I want to write them down so that one day, when they are older and trying to figure out how God has wired them, I can remind them of what they loved and dreamed about when they were kids.

We all need a little help figuring that out, don’t we?

Looking For The Ordinary|Awesome - Ordinary|Awesome Blog


Looking For The Ordinary Awesome - Write 31 Days ChallengeTo read all the posts in this series, check out the series page as I post the link for every day! And don’t miss a post – subscribe via email by signing up using the form in the sidebar!

This post is part of 31 Days – “an online writing challenge started by home blogger, Myquillyn Smith (The Nester) where bloggers pick one topic and write a post on that topic every day in October.”

3 thoughts on “Helper Girl

  1. This is great Lauren! My husband and I have begun emailing our daughter ( who is not yet 3 weeks old) with stories and pictures of her birth. We hope to keep it up through her childhood so she has notes to look back on when she’s older… Kind of like a virtual album!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

