31 Days of Looking For The Ordinary|Awesome

Looking for the Ordinary Awesome - 31 Days Writing Challenge

 

Sometimes I can’t see the big picture for all the little things – the diapers, the toilets to clean, the getting out the door in the morning. In order to live and take care of the people in my life there are certain things I have to do – laundry, cooking dinner, vacuuming, brushing knots out of hair… However, while this is all going on, so much else is happening – in the world, in our country and in our little town, certainly, but also in these little things I do.

31 Days of Looking For The Ordinary Awesome - Ordinary|Awesome blog

There is an underside, an intricate inner-working that I miss when I rush without looking.

31 Days of Looking For The Ordinary Awesome - Ordinary|Awesome blog

And I lose sight of the fact that I am a part of a really big story, the biggest story – God’s story.

31 Days of Looking For The Ordinary Awesome - Ordinary|Awesome blog

It’s like seeing something in a mirror – you can look at the object itself or the reflection in the mirror. I Corinthians 13:12 says

For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

31 Days of Looking For The Ordinary Awesome - Ordinary|Awesome blog

Awesome – something worthy of awe – is happening all around. But right now we only see dimly – we have to look carefully, like when the lights are turned down low… or plain off.

31 Days of Looking For The Ordinary Awesome - Ordinary|Awesome blog

One day we will know fully – beginning to end, we’ll know why life unfolded as it did… Right now we see the reflection and we have to look closely to see the awesome in the ordinary.

31 Days of Looking For The Ordinary Awesome - Ordinary|Awesome blog

So that’s what I’m going to do for the next 31 days. I’m looking for revelations and lessons, joys and gifts in the everyday. Some days it may be as simple as 30-minute dinner rolls to serve our hungry family, and some days it may be the lessons my kids teach me about God. But I’ve found that if I’m not looking for these good things, I’ll totally miss the awesome in the ordinary.

31 Days of Looking For The Ordinary Awesome - Ordinary|Awesome blog

I’d be honored if you’d join me for the next 31 days!


 

To read all the posts in this series, check out the series page as I post the link for every day! And don’t miss a post – subscribe via email by signing up using the form in the sidebar!

This post is part of 31 Days – “an online writing challenge started by home blogger, Myquillyn Smith (The Nester) where bloggers pick one topic and write a post on that topic every day in October.”

Looking For The Ordinary Awesome - Write 31 Days Challenge

 

 

Leave a Reply

