Buffalo Chicken Pizza {a.k.a. Your New Favorite Pizza}

Buffalo Chicken Pizza from Ordinary|Awesome blog

Okay, I’m really giving you something when I give you this recipe. This is quite possibly my very favorite pizza ever. I love pizza with red pizza sauce, olives and pepperoni – classic. But this pizza… I had it for dinner Saturday night, and I made a small one for Steve and I for lunch yesterday. I could eat it for three meals in a row – that’s how good it is.

Don’t judge me.

Papa John’s has a buffalo chicken pizza that they bring back every so often – usually at the start of football season. When Steve and I lived in town, just around the block from Papa John’s, we’d get it as soon as they had it back on the menu. We live 20 minutes away from PJ’s now, so I decided I should try to figure out how to make it myself. Especially since it’s not on their menu right now.

I was wildly successful. Seriously – you’re going to love me for this recipe.

Start with a basic pizza dough recipe. I love to use The Pioneer Woman’s easy peazy pizza crust – yeast, water, flour, salt, olive oil. Here’s the recipe. The recipe makes two thin crusts, but I used 3/4 of the dough to make a pizza last night that took up most of this pan. You want the crust to be on the thick pillowy side. <swoon> Feel free to just make one big pizza, but I like leftovers.

The photo below is my smaller pizza today. I kept the dough in the fridge and it made enough for a nice lunch pizza today. The one last night fed three.

Buffalo Chicken Pizza from Ordinary|Awesome blog
I always use parchment paper for my pizzas. Parchment paper is your friend – for pizzas and cookies and breads… It makes life so much easier (nothing sticks!) and makes things cook and bake perfectly. Get you some.

Here is the cast of characters:

Buffalo Chicken Pizza from Ordinary|Awesome blog

Ranch dressing, some cooked chicken (I cubed two chicken breasts, added some salt and pepper and garlic powder and cooked them quickly – had some left over), a few strips of bacon (however much you like), mild banana pepper rings, half monterey-jack, half mozzarella cheese (I grated more than you see here – probably about 8 oz.)

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees so when you’re done assembling it you won’t waste any time. For goodness’ sake. You want to eat this as soon as possible.

Drizzle the ranch over the crust. There is no scientific measurement, but I found this spiral method worked nicely.

Buffalo Chicken Pizza from Ordinary|Awesome blog

You don’t want too much ranch or it will be gloopy. You want it to melt into the crust (oh my goodness)…

Buffalo Chicken Pizza from Ordinary|Awesome blog

Next, scatter as much chicken as you like around the pizza.

Buffalo Chicken Pizza from Ordinary|Awesome blog

Then cut the bacon up with scissors (it’s the only way to do it… I use scissors for everything.) I used three strips. It’s your call.

Buffalo Chicken Pizza from Ordinary|Awesome blog

Grab your neon yellow banana peppers – don’t be afraid they are not spicy and they add a great tang. I love the color!

Buffalo Chicken Pizza from Ordinary|Awesome blog

Top it all with lots of cheese!

Buffalo Chicken Pizza from Ordinary|Awesome blog

Now stick it in the preheated oven for 15 minutes.

You might be thinking I totally forgot the wing sauce. Wait for it…

By the way – this Sweet Baby Ray’s wing sauce is the bomb. I didn’t even know they made wing sauce. We’ve tried a few of them out there including designer ones and store brand. This is probably one of my favorites. I’m looking forward to trying it on wings for football season.

Buffalo Chicken Pizza from Ordinary|Awesome blog

Ok, so it’s been 15 minutes, and this is what your pizza will look like coming out of the oven. Bubbly and perfectly browned on top. You can peek underneath and the underside will be slightly browned as well.

Buffalo Chicken Pizza from Ordinary|Awesome blog

Enter: wing sauce. Drizzle some evenly all over the pizza. You don’t want to drown it – just kind of spiral it around again.

Buffalo Chicken Pizza from Ordinary|Awesome blog

Then serve it up and chow down!

Buffalo Chicken Pizza from Ordinary|Awesome blog

Add it to your meal plan for the week! Maybe during a pre-season football game!

Buffalo Chicken Pizza

1 recipe The Pioneer Woman pizza dough

Ranch dressing

2 chicken breasts, cubed, tossed with garlic powder and salt and pepper to taste, and quickly cooked in some olive oil

3-4 strips bacon, cooked and crumbled or cut into pieces

Mild banana pepper rings

Monterey-jack cheese (4 oz. or however much you like)

Mozzarella cheese (4 oz. or however much you like)

Wing sauce (or some brands call it hot sauce – we like Sweet Baby Ray’s Buffalo Wing Sauce & Glaze)

Parchment paper

Make pizza dough and let rise. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment paper. To make a large pizza, use all the dough, and using your fingers, flatten the dough to the shape of your liking, keeping it on the thick side. Drizzle the ranch in a spiral over the whole pizza. Not too much! Spread with a spoon. Scatter the chicken, bacon and banana peppers (as much as you like), and top with the cheeses. Bake for 15 minutes. When the pizza comes out, drizzle with the wing sauce and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken Pizza {a.k.a. Your New Favorite Pizza}

  1. oh girl, this post made me salivate! looks so delicious! what a delight to get to know you–thank you for your message in my inbox this morning. i look forward to meeting you in person at Allume sister! keep chasing hard after Jesus. e.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emily – thank you so much for stopping by! I think in my message I said I had just gotten Atlas Girl in the mail – I started it Friday night and here I am on Monday, pages away from finishing… Shaking my head for words. I sobbed through the first five chapters, and haven’t been able to put it down. Truly – thank you for sharing your story. Can’t wait to meet you at Allume!

      Like

Leave a Reply

