The Artist’s Way – Week 3 Check-in!

Phew… Week 3…

I was going pretty strong weeks 1 and 2, but I have to say this week I did not do morning pages yesterday or today… and no artist date. <hanging head in shame> … Ok, not shame, because that was part of what our reading was about.

However, I did appreciate the tasks I did – some of which were from last week. One of them involved writing down 5 things I loved eating as a kid, and then actually getting one of them.

Mine was pretzels and frosting. I distinctly remember one Wednesday night at Awana Bible club at church (I was a “Spark” level at the time), our leader breaking out a bag of salted pretzel rods and a can of vanilla frosting. I thought it was the best thing I had ever eaten. So I made a trip to the store and got some pretzel rods… I do like the taste of canned frosting at times, but I can’t get over the list of ingredients, when it really just takes butter, sugar, milk and vanilla to make frosting. So I made my own. My kids loved this snack too – complete with multi-colored sprinkles. Sorry, no picture – I took one with my mind, so you’ll just have to imagine it…

In other news… I’ve seen a definite pattern in my morning pages. I write “I should” and “I need to” A LOT. I got kind of upset in one of my entries because I realized how much I feel the need to please people. I feel like I have to explain everything to everyone so no one thinks ill of me. It’s exhausting. That’s all I’ll say right now – I’ll write more once I process this some more.

* * *

To close the weekend… Here’s a look at what we did today! Thanks to Steve for taking all these pictures! My husband is one talented dude ๐Ÿ™‚

The Artist's Way Week 3 Check-In - Ordinary|Awesome Blog

We went to the National Cherry Festival air show, which included demonstrations by the helicopters of the U.S. Coast Guard Air Station Traverse City, three WWII P-51 mustangs, an F-22 Raptor and finally, the Blue Angels – Navy flight demonstration team.

The Artist's Way Week 3 Check-In - Ordinary|Awesome Blog

Does anyone else find this funny? :

The Artist's Way Week 3 Check-In - Ordinary|Awesome Blog

Frighteningly close:

The Artist's Way Week 3 Check-In - Ordinary|Awesome Blog

The Artist's Way Week 3 Check-In - Ordinary|Awesome Blog

How was your week 3? (Or your weekend, if you aren’t doing The Artist’s Way!)

Leave a Reply

