You’re So GREAT At That!

You're So GREAT At That! {a lesson in Kindness} - from OrdinaryAwesome

Morg wanted Levi and Tazey and I to sit on the couch while she did a “show”. She put her pink tutu on, and proceeded to do various ballet-ish and gymnastic-like moves to a song that she hummed.

When she was done, her brother clapped enthusiastically and said:

“WOOOAAAAH!! MORG!! You are so GREAT at that!!”

She beamed.

* * *

As we were hurtling toward 2014 at the end of December (because no matter how much you try to savor and make slow the month of December, inevitably everything sneaks up on you and there you are wrapping Christmas presents on Christmas Eve… But I digress…) I got out a fresh piece of paper in my prayer binder, and wrote down some goals.

Like – becoming great at making pie dough (this is vital), taking better pictures, keeping in better contact with family…
I also chose two words – Kindness and Discipline. (Because the idea was to choose one, but I can’t stop at one. I am a firstborn perfectionist. Don’t judge me.) I got two composition notebooks that cost me a whopping $.98 each and labeled one “Discipline – Thoughts On” and the other one I was supposed to label Kindness and then I started writing other stuff in it… Apparently I need more notebooks.

So I’ve been thinking on these words, and I’ve jotted some thoughts down about discipline in the “Discipline” one… But mostly I’ve realized how unkind I can be.

How often do I genuinely get excited because someone else is really great and something? I get all bratty inside when someone else gets the praise and I don’t.

So I’m not saying Levi has it all together, and is kind to his sisters all the time. But he was an object lesson in kindness for me the other day. Jesus said in Matthew 18:3-4 “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.”
I will remember for a long time how genuinely proud he was of his sister.

Leave a Reply

